Worldview Question #1: What is the nature of ultimate reality?

It’s time I get back to my series on worldviews. To hold the posts together, I’m linking back to the original post, which will have all successive links at the bottom. The question I’ll tackle today is…

What is the nature of ultimate reality? (What is real?)

Included under this question are smaller ones, such as, is there such thing as the supernatural? Is there a God? What is he like? Is he personal? Knowable? What are his traits? Are there many gods? What are they like? If the supernatural is nonexistant, how did everything we see originate? What is real that we cannot see? I’ll attempt, in my own unscientific, untrained way, to explain what I believe to be the answer to these questions.

In my search for truth, I leaned heavily on the historicity of Jesus Christ, the reliability of the Bible, and the fulfillment of prophecy in making a decision for the Christian faith. So my answers will reflect a biblical worldview and rely on the Bible as my source.

Simply put, I believe that Creation is real–everything created by the spoken word of God. This includes all the physical matter we see around us, the earth, the sky, the universe. It encompasses the physical laws that hold Creation together. Absolute right and wrong are real. Spiritual beings are real. And of course, God is real.

God is infinite, triune, all-present, all-knowing, sovereign, and good. He is the only God. He is the basis of all reality. In him all things exist. Without him there is nothing. God is also personal. He’s knowable. And he’s revealed himself in the Holy Scriptures. God is the source of all reality. This is the underlying foundation of a Christian worldview, and all further answers hang decidedly from this singular belief.

Do you believe in God? If so, do you know him? If not, how do you explain all you see and all you believe to be true? What is the basis of your reality?

Leave a Reply

