Perspective

Today Pastor preached on Job. I don’t like the book of Job. It is the saddest, most depressing story I have ever heard, and it has very little to do with my life. My children are all alive and thriving, my house is intact, and my health is excellent. I’ve, ah, never owned any cattle or donkeys or sheep – but I do have a dog! And she’s fine, too.

So why does Job strike such a deep chord in my heart? Maybe it’s because he reminds me of how much I’ve been given.

The one thing I want right now more than anything is to get one (actually all) of my books published. But how superficial is that, really? In twenty years, my books will end up on the library sale table. In fifty, no one will remember my name. But my kids and their kids? Wow! Suddenly my vision clears.

So what if, like Job, these greatest blessings are taken away in a moment? What would I be left with? Job reminds me: “Even now my witness is in heaven; my advocate is on high (16:19 NIV)…I know that my Redeemer lives, and that in the end he will stand upon the earth (19:25).”

I still don’t like to read the book of Job. It isn’t the fluffy, feel-good story I prefer. But it does contain a hope I can anchor to if and when my own story suffers a plot twist. So, thanks, Pastor Stan, for dragging me through Job today.

Later…
Okay, after tonight’s final sermon on Job, I think I missed the point before. It is, simply put, “He is God, and I am not.” End of story.

Originally posted Dec. 15, 2009.

Leave a Reply

